VC-Investments in FinTech

„FinTech“ dürfte in der Finanzwelt Potenzial für das „Wort des Jahres“ haben. Doch nicht nur der Begriff, sondern FinTech als solches hat enormes Potenzial – seit einigen Jahren schon möchte eine wachsende Zahl von Unternehmen in der „digitalen Finanzwelt mitmischen“. Die FinTech-Palette reicht von Mobile-Banking Apps über RoboAdvisory bis hin zu Exchange-Plattformen für virtuelle Währungen und (andere) digitale Token.

Doch die Integration junger FinTech-Start-ups in die Welt der „Big Financial Player“ ist nicht immer leicht. Oft wird zunächst ein strategischer Partner benötigt, der seine Expertise und vor allem Kapital in das Start-up einbringt. Nur so können Start-ups ihren Weg beginnen, indem sie Kooperationen mit FinTech-Partnerbanken eingehen oder sogar eine eigene Erlaubnis bei der BaFin beantragen. Und hier kommen insbesondere Venture Capital-Investoren (“VC-Investoren”) ins Spiel – von Seed bis Series-D-Finanzierungsrunden können sie die Start-ups (finanziell) unterstützen und von deren Erfolg profitieren. Wie die Symbiose zwischen FinTech und Venture Capital funktionieren kann, haben in jüngster Vergangenheit große erfolgreiche Finanzierungsrunden in FinTechs gezeigt.

Dabei stellen sich in der Regel komplexe praktische und rechtliche Fragen sowohl aus Sicht der FinTechs als auch aus Sicht der VC-Investoren. Im Rahmen unserer Veranstaltung „VC-Investments in FinTech“ möchten zum einen VC-Investoren und FinTech Unternehmen ihre praktischen Erfahrungen teilen. Weiter werden die wesentlichen rechtlichen Fragestellungen bei dieser besonderen Konstellation diskutiert.

 

Programm

17:30

Anmeldung / Registrierung

18:00

Welcome Note
Robin Eyben, LL.M., Partner, Osborne Clarke

18:10

Panel 1 (Legal Panel)

Tanja Aschenbeck, LL.M., Partner, Osborne Clarke
Dr. Ulrike Bär, LL.M., Counsel, Osborne Clarke
Till-Manuel Saur, Senior Associate, Osborne Clarke

Moderator: Dr. Michael Gebert (Vorstand European Blockchain Association, Gründer CrowdDialog and CrowdDialog Europe)

18:50

Panel 2 (Praktiker Panel)

Christoph Iwaniez (Chief Financial Officer, Bitwala GmbH)
Dr. Robert Kilian (Head of Legal / Chief Representative, N26 Group)
Tim Rehder (Principal, Earlybird Venture Capital)
Mali Baum (Founding Partner & CEO, WLOUNGE / upcoming MAGDA GROUP)
Tobias Schulz (Investment Manager, High-Tech Gründerfonds)

Moderator: Till-Manuel Saur

19:40

Get together und Snacks

Interested in attending?

Registrieren Sie sich hier!

When and where?

18 June 2019

17:30 - 22:00

Osborne Clarke Berlin

Wegbeschreibung

VC-Investments in FinTech

“FinTech” is a contender for the “word of the year” in the financial world. Not only the term, but FinTech as such has enormous potential – a growing number of companies in the “digital financial world” have been keen to be a part of it for several years now. The FinTech portfolio ranges from mobile banking apps and RoboAdvisory to exchange platforms for virtual currencies and (other) digital tokens.

However, integrating young FinTech start-ups into the world of big financial players is not always easy. Often, it requires an initial strategic partner, who brings their expertise and, above all, capital into the start-up. This is how start-ups can begin their journey – whether that leads to entering into cooperations with FinTech partner banks or even applying for their own licences by BaFin. And this is where venture capital investors come in – from seed to Series D financing rounds they are able to (financially) support the start-ups and profit from their success. How the ‘symbiosis’ between FinTech and venture capital can work has recently been demonstrated by large successful financing rounds in FinTechs.

Complex practical and legal questions usually arise from the FinTechs’ as well as from the VC investors’s perspective. At our event “VC-Investments in FinTech”, VC investors and FinTech companies would like to share their practical experience. We will also be discussing the essential legal questions that arise.

VC-Investments in FinTech – Join our event!

Agenda

17:30 p.m. Registration and drinks
18:00 p.m.

Welcome Note

Robin Eyben, LL.M., Partner, Osborne Clarke

 

18:10 p.m.

Panel 1 (Legal Panel)

Tanja Aschenbeck, LL.M., Partner, Osborne Clarke

Dr. Ulrike Bär, LL.M., Counsel, Osborne Clarke

Till-Manuel Saur, Senior Associate, Osborne Clarke

Moderator: Dr. Michael Gebert (chairman European Blockchain Association, founder CrowdDialog and CrowdDialog Europe)

 

18:50 p.m.

Panel 2 (Practice Panel)

Christoph Iwaniez (Chief Financial Officer, Bitwala GmbH)

Dr. Robert Kilian (Head of Legal / Chief Representative, N26 Group)

Tim Rehder (Principal, Earlybird Venture Capital)

Mali Baum (Founding Partner & CEO WLOUNGE / upcoming MAGDA GROUP)

Tobias Schulz (Investment Manager, High-Tech Gründerfonds)

Moderator: Till-Manuel Saur

 

19:40 p.m. get together with typical Berlin finger food

Interested in attending?

Register here!

When and where?

18 June 2019

17:30 - 22:00

Osborne Clarke Berlin

Getting here